Fortune

Days gone by
like an old sedan
blue pedals flaked away
laid their blanket
down upon these
crippled streets and
all those alive
three piece suits
turned to rags

foggy eyed and
troubled grin
tell me where
my fortune is
foggy eyed and
troubled grin
tell me where
my fortune is

sullen laying
on the floor of
the old Long Trail
when’r we walking
out the door
you could almost
hear them wail

shakedown on Wall Street
seconds blast away
drive and drive
name your price
we’ll eat like pigs
while they break like twigs
leaving none for
our sons and their wives

foggy eyed and
troubled grin
tell me where
my fortune is
foggy eyed and
troubled grin
tell me where
my fortune is

sullen laying
on the floor of
the old Long Trail
when’r we walking
out the door
you could almost
hear them wail

-McKeon-

Leave a Reply

